Kunstkammer Georg Laue

Portrait Georg Laue

Kunstkammer Georg Laue

Georg Laue founded the Kunstkammer Georg Laue in 1997 in the immediate vicinity of the three Pinakotheken in Munich. There he exhibits artworks of museum standards from the 16th to the 18th centuries in splendid historical rooms. These artworks were once wondrous objects part of the Kunst– and Wunderkammer of the Renaissance and Baroque period. Such pieces include non-European works (exotica), natural objects (naturalia), scientific instruments (scientifica), natural marvels (mirabilia), and skilfully crafted artworks (artificialia). Here artworks made of a wide variety of materials are displayed in a lively manner. Thus objects made of amber, ivory, coral, silver, shell, stone, bronze, and coconut create the atmosphere of the princely Kunstkammer, which is in itself a small-scale representation of the cosmos. At the same time, the Kunstkammer illustrates the position of mankind in the universe on the basis of his ability to produce “artistic” creations. Georg Laue is convinced that Kunst– and Wunderkammer offer a type of aesthetic school for modern society. It is for this reason that he decided to specialise in Kunstkammer objects in addition to the construction and presentation of Kunstkammer collections. In so doing, he not only supports collectors, but also public institutions such as museums and foundations with the preparation and the realisation of Kunstkammer exhibitions.

Georg Laue’s interest in Renaissance and Baroque objects KunstkammerGL DSC0079 250was already awakened during his youth with the influence of his father’s art dealership, which was founded in the 1960s. During his studies of art history, ethnology, and ecclesiastical history, he deepened his passion for Kunst– and Wunderkammer. As an art historian, he has released a series of elaborately designed catalogues since 1999 through his own in-house publishing company. The catalogues themselves are a product of the cooperation of different specialists and are considered reference works in academic circles. This publication series, which comprises ten volumes to date, is devoted to different themes surrounding the topic of the Kunstkammer: scientifica and exotica, vanitas objects, Kunstkammer furniture, precious cutlery, amber and ivory artworks as well as filigree glass from the 16th and 17th centuries.

Georg Laue has displayed exquisite artworks from the Renaissance and the Baroque period in parallel with contemporary works in several special exhibitions. For example, he staged an exhibition in cooperation with Colnaghi in London in the fall of 2013 called "Art of the Curious," which highlighted the interaction between art and nature by means of specially chosen Kunstkammer objects, Old Master paintings, drawings, as well as contemporary pieces. In the exhibition "The Oceans. Dreams and Realities" organised by the ERES-Foundation in Munich in 2011, Georg Laue curated artworks from Agnès Varda and works by other contemporary artists in conjunction with an ocean-themed Wunderkammer full of precious items from the 16th to 19th centuries. Moreover, he installed a Wunderkammer for the Olbricht collection in 2007 in the Museum Folkwang in Essen, a display in the Weserburg Museum for Modern Art in Bremen in 2008/2009, another Kunstkammer in the Kunsthalle Krems in 2010 as well as a display in La Maison Rouge in Paris in 2011. Georg Laue has also curated the permanent exhibition “Wunderkammer Olbricht” in the me Collectors Room in Berlin since May 2010. Also noteworthy is the exhibition "Polke - Bernstein Amber," which he organised in 2006 in cooperation with the Michael Werner Gallery in New York. At this exhibition, he displayed a collection of Renaissance and amber objects in combination with works by Sigmar Polke. Furthermore, the yearly collective stand at Frieze Masters London with the Peter Freeman Inc. gallery based in New York, which specialises in contemporary art, continues to attract visitors with its beautiful and inspiring combination of Renaissance, Baroque, and contemporary artworks. This collaboration between Georg Laue and Peter Freeman began in New York in 2004 with a unique and exciting exhibition - called "A Collector´s Cabinet of Curiosities".

KunstkammerGL TEFAF 250The Kunstkammer Georg Laue is a regular exhibitor at TEFAF (The European Fine Art Foundation) in Maastricht, at Frieze Masters in London, as well as at the HIGHLIGHTS – International Art Fair in Munich. In addition, the Kunstkammer Georg Laue participated in the BIAF (Biennale Internazionale dell´Antiquariato di Firenze) in Florence in 2015 in cooperation with the HIGHLIGHTS fair and since 2016 in the TEFAF in New York Fall.

 

... return to the overview page

 

Chronology

2017   Exhibitor Frieze Masters, London

2017   Catalogue Volume XI "Tresor"

2017   Exhibitor TEFAF, Maastricht

2016   Exhibitor HIGHLIGHTS – International Art Fair, Munich Residenz

2016   Exhibitor TEFAF, New York

2016   Exhibitor Frieze Masters, London

2016   Launch Kunstkammer Edition

2016   Exhibitor TEFAF, Maastricht

2015   Exhibitor HIGHLIGHTS – International Art Fair, Munich Residenz

2015   Exhibitor Frieze Masters, London

2015   Exhibitor Biennale dell’Antiquariato, Florence

2015   Exhibitor TEFAF, Maastricht

2014   Exhibition HIGHLIGHTS – International Art Fair, Munich Residenz

2014   Exhibitor Frieze Masters, London

2014   Catalogue Volume X
“The White Gold of Venice“

2014   Exhibitor TEFAF, Maastricht

2013   Exhibition “Art of the Curious“, London

2013   Exhibitor HIGHLIGHTS – International Art Fair, Munich Residenz

2013   Exhibitor TEFAF, Maastricht

2012   Exhibitor HIGHLIGHTS – International Art Fair, Haus der Kunst, Munich

2012   Catalogue Volume IX “Exotica“

2012   Exhibitor TEFAF, Maastricht

2011   Exhibitor HIGHLIGHTS – International Art Fair, Haus der Kunst, Munich

2011   Exhibition „The Oceans – Dreams and Realities“, Eres-Foundation Munich

2011   Exhibitor TEFAF, Maastricht

2010   Exhibition HIGHLIGHTS – International Art Fair, Munich,

2010   Opening of the Wunderkammer Olbricht, Berlin

2010   Catalogue Volume VIII „Precious Cutlery for European Kunstkammer“

2010   Exhibitor TEFAF, Maastricht

2009   Founding of the HIGHLIGHTS – International Art Fair, Munich

2009   Exhibitor TEFAF, Maastricht

2009   Author in the Book “Ambre, mémoire du temps“

2008   Catalogue Volume VII “Furniture for the European Kunstkammer“

2008   Exhibitor Sculptura – European Sculpture Fair, Berlin

2008   Exhibitor TEFAF, Maastricht

2007   Exhibitor TEFAF, Maastricht

2006   Exhibition “Polke – Bernstein Amber”, New York

2006   Exhibitor Biennale des Antiquaires, Paris

2006   Catalogue Volume VI “Amber – Treasuries for European Kunstkammer“

2006   Exhibitor TEFAF, Maastricht

2005   Exhibitor “Amber for Throne and Altar“, Vienna

2005   Founder and Exhibitor Munich Highlights

2005   Exhibitor TEFAF, Maastricht

2004   Exhibition “A Collector´s Cabinet of Curiosities“, New York

2004   Catalogue Volume V “Scientifica“

2004   Catalogue Volume IV “Turned Treasuries“

2004   Exhibitor TEFAF, Maastricht

2003   Exhibitor TEFAF, Maastricht

2002   Catalogue Volume III „Memento Mori“

2002   Exhibitor TEFAF, Maastricht

2001   Exhibitor Ars Nobilis, Berlin

2001   Catalogue Volume II “The Amber Cabinet“

2001   Exhibitor TEFAF, Maastricht

2000   Exhibitor TEFAF, Maastricht

1999   Catalogue Volume I “Wonders are collectable“

1999   The Publishing Company Kunstkammer Georg Laue is founded

1999   Exhibitor Kunstmesse Munich

1997   The Kunstkammer Georg Laue is founded

Kunstkammer Georg Laue

Portrait Georg Laue

Kunstkammer Georg Laue

Georg Laue gründete 1997 die Kunstkammer Georg Laue in München in unmittelbarer Nachbarschaft zu den drei Pinakotheken. In prunkvollen historischen Räumlichkeiten zeigt er Objekte musealer Qualität aus dem 16.-18. Jahrhundert, die in den Kunst- und Wunderkammern der Renaissance und des Barock zu bestaunen waren: außereuropäische Gegenstände (Exotica), Naturalien (Naturalia), wissenschaftliche Instrumente (Scientifica), Wunderwerke (Mirabilia) und Kunstobjekte (Artificialia). Hier werden Kunstwerke aus vielfältigsten Materialien lebendig inszeniert. So lassen Objekte aus Bernstein, Elfenbein, Koralle, Silber, Muschel, Stein, Bronze oder Kokosnuss die Atmosphäre der fürstlichen Kunstkammern entstehen, die ein Abbild des Kosmos im Kleinen abgeben und somit die Stellung des Menschen im Universum anhand seiner „künstlichen“ Schöpfungen veranschaulichen. Georg Laue ist davon überzeugt, dass sich die Kunst- und Wunderkammern auch für den modernen Menschen als ästhetische Schule anbieten. Aus diesem Grund hat er sich einerseits auf Kunstkammer-Objekte spezialisiert, andererseits auf den Aufbau und die Präsentation von Kunstkammer-Sammlungen. Dabei steht er nicht nur Sammlern zur Seite. Er unterstützt auch öffentliche Einrichtungen wie Museen und Stiftungen bei der Vorbereitung und Durchführung von Kunstkammer-Ausstellungen.

In der seit den 1960er Jahren in München bestehenden Kunsthandlung KunstkammerGL DSC0079 250des Vaters ist Georg Laues Interesse für Renaissance- und Barock-Objekte schon in seiner Jugend erwacht. Während seines Studiums der Kunstgeschichte, Ethnologie und Kirchengeschichte vertiefte sich seine Leidenschaft für die Kunst- und Wunderkammer. Als Kunsthistoriker gibt er seit 1999 eine Reihe aufwendig gestalteter Katalogbücher im Eigenverlag heraus, die in Zusammenarbeit mit verschiedenen Spezialisten entstehen und in wissenschaftlichen Kreisen als Referenzwerke gelten. Diese Publikationsreihe, die bislang zehn Bände umfasst, widmet sich unterschiedlichen Schwerpunkten der Kunstkammer-Thematik: Scientifica und Exotica, Vanitas-Objekte, Kunstkammermöbel, kostbare Bestecke, Bernstein- und Elfenbeinkunstwerke sowie auch Filigranglas des 16.-17. Jahrhunderts.

In Sonderausstellungen zeigt Georg Laue auserlesene Kunstobjekte der Renaissance und des Barock auch zusammen mit zeitgenössischen Kunstwerken. So inszenierte er im Herbst 2013 in Zusammenarbeit mit Colnaghi in London die Ausstellung „Art of the Curious“, die das Zusammenspiel von Kunst und Natur anhand auserwählter Kunstkammer-Objekte, Altmeistergemälde, Zeichnungen sowie auch zeitgenössischer Arbeiten thematisierte. In der Ausstellung „Das Meer. Traum und Wirklichkeit“ der ERES-Stiftung München inszenierte Georg Laue 2011 neben einer Installation von Agnès Varda und Werken weiterer zeitgenössischer Künstler eine Meeres-Wunderkammer mit Kostbarkeiten des 16.-19. Jahrhunderts. Für die Olbricht Collection installierte er sowohl 2007 im Folkwang Museum in Essen eine Wunderkammer, als auch 2008/2009 in der Weserburg - Museum für Moderne Kunst in Bremen sowie 2010 in der Kunsthalle Krems und 2011 in La Maison Rouge in Paris. Seit Mai 2010 betreut Georg Laue als Kurator die permanente Ausstellung der Wunderkammer Olbricht im me Collectors Room in Berlin. Erwähnenswert ist außerdem die Ausstellung „Polke - Bernstein Amber“, die er 2006 in Zusammenarbeit mit der Michael Werner Gallery in New York organisierte und die einer Sammlung von Renaissance-Bernsteinobjekten in Kombination mit Werken von Sigmar Polke gewidmet war. Der jährliche Gemeinschaftsstand auf der Frieze Masters in London mit der auf zeitgenössische Kunst spezialisierten Galerie Peter Freeman Inc. aus New York setzt die schöne und inspirierende Zusammenarbeit fort, die Georg Laue und Peter Freeman bereits im Jahr 2004 mit einer ungewöhnlichen und spannenden Ausstellung in New York begannen.

KunstkammerGL TEFAF 250Die Kunstkammer Georg Laue ist regelmäßiger Aussteller auf der TEFAF (The European Fine Art Foundation) in Maastricht, der Frieze Masters in London sowie der HIGHLIGHTS – Internationale Kunstmesse in München. Im Jahr 2015 nahm die Kunstkammer zudem über eine Kooperation mit den HIGHLIGHTS an der BIAF (Biennale Internazionale dell´Antiquariato di Firenze) in Florenz teil. Seit 2016 stellt sie auf der TEFAF in New York aus.

... zurück zur Übersicht

 

Chronologie

2017   Katalog Band XI "Tresor"

2017   Aussteller TEFAF, Maastricht

2016   Aussteller HIGHLIGHTS - Internationale Kunstmesse, Residenz München 

2016   Aussteller TEFAF, New York

2016   Aussteller Frieze Masters, London

2016   Veröffentlichung Kunstkammer Edition

2016   Aussteller TEFAF, Maastricht

2015   Aussteller HIGHLIGHTS - Internationale Kunstmesse, Residenz München 

2015   Aussteller Frieze Masters, London

2015   Aussteller Biennale dell'Antiquariato, Florenz

2015   Aussteller TEFAF, Maastricht

2014   Aussteller HIGHLIGHTS - Internationale Kunstmesse, Residenz München

2014   Aussteller Frieze Masters, London

2014   Katalog Band X "Das weiße Gold von Venedig"

2014   Aussteller TEFAF, Maastricht

2013   Ausstellung "Art of the Curious", London

2013   Aussteller HIGHLIGHTS - Internationale Kunstmesse, Residenz München

2013   Aussteller TEFAF, Maastricht

2012   Aussteller HIGHLIGHTS - Internationale Kunstmesse, Haus der Kunst, München

2012   Katalog Band IX "Exotica"

2012   Aussteller TEFAF, Maastricht

2011   Aussteller HIGHLIGHTS - Internationale Kunstmesse, Haus der Kunst, München

2011   Ausstellung "Das Meer. Traum und Wirklichkeit"

2011   Aussteller TEFAF, Maastricht

2010   Aussteller HIGHLIGHTS - Internationale Kunstmesse, München

2010   Eröffnung der Wunderkammer Olbricht, Berlin

2010   Katalog Band VIII "Kostbare Bestecke"

2010   Aussteller TEFAF, Maastricht

2009   Gründung der HIGHLIGHTS - Internationale Kunstmesse München

2009   Aussteller TEFAF, Maastricht

2009   Autor im Buch "Ambre, mémoire du temps"

2008   Katalog Band VII "Möbel für die Kunstkammern Europas"

2008   Aussteller Sculptura, Berlin

2008   Aussteller TEFAF, Maastricht

2007   Aussteller TEFAF, Maastricht

2006   Ausstellung "Polke - Bernstein Amber", New York

2006   Aussteller Biennale des Antiquaires, Paris

2006   Katalog Band VI "Bernstein - Kostbarkeiten europäischer Kunstkammern"

2006   Aussteller TEFAF, Maastricht

2005   Ausstellung "Bernstein für Thron und Altar", Wien

2005   Gründung und Aussteller Munich Highlights

2005   Aussteller TEFAF, Maastricht

2004   Ausstellung "A Collector´s Cabinet of Curiosities", New York

2004   Katalog Band V "Scientifica"

2004   Katalog Band IV "Gedrehte Kostbarkeiten"

2004   Aussteller TEFAF, Maastricht

2003   Aussteller TEFAF, Maastricht

2002   Katalog Band III "Memento Mori"

2002   Aussteller TEFAF, Maastricht

2001   Aussteller Ars Nobilis, Berlin

2001   Katalog Band II "Der Bernsteinschrank"

2001   Aussteller TEFAF, Maastricht

2000   Aussteller TEFAF, Maastricht

1999   Katalog Band I "Wunder kann man sammeln"

1999   Gründung Verlag Kunstkammer Georg Laue

1999   Aussteller Kunstmesse München

1997   Gründung der Kunstkammer Georg Laue